An Update, of sorts

I want to apologize for not having written in the past few months. I have not been able to pay the phone bill, so the phone and its Internet connection were shut down. Nevertheless, I hope to be able to post something in the near future. A friend lets me use her computer so I can check my e-mail once a week and do whatever else I need to do, and I am very grateful for that!
Meanwhile, I’ve been reading a monograph/art show catalogue which I bought in 2011 after attending a retrospective for the late Marco Ospina, a Colombian artist who first brought international abstract painting to the country in the late 1940s. While I am enjoying the book, I realize it’s making me ask questions and make comments about the state of art in Colombia in the present day, and contemporary art in general outside the country. I won’t spoil the surprise, but I can see that I will have to write a more detailed blog on this subject before Christmas.
Otherwise, my small gallery is open and I have expanded its inventory to include oils, acrylics and small pastels done in the last few months. In fact, on Tuesday, which was a gorgeous day here, I trekked up to the Quinta de Bolìvar and spent a couple of hours doing a pastel of part of the exterior of that estate. I plan to put a double mat on it, cover it with cellophane and offer it for sale at a low price. (Because the price of framing is nowhere near low).
Otherwise, I just live from day to day. My life is a mess and if I dwell on it or describe it here, I get seriously depressed.
So thank you for reading and I look forward to your comments. If you’re in Bogotá, please drop by the gallery some Sunday. No obligation to buy, but I have interesting things to look at. See you soon!

Leave a comment

Filed under Untold Tales

Leave a Reply

